cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Free translation sample

german_mom

Hello community,

I am new at Upwork and I was just wondering if it's normal for a client to ask for a free sample, e.g. the first two pages of the whole workload, and then disappear without any further remark on the provided sample? (In the chat it says "Job has been cancelled.")

Isn't that kind of rude to just cancel the job instead of declining properly and saying thanks for your work, but I've chosen someone else? After all, I have translated close to 900 words for free. She could have at least told me if my work was good or not.

By the way, she was the one who contacted me in the first place, not the other way round. And she's a bestselling author (I did some Google research on her name) - who would have thought?

17 REPLIES 17
gnakeur
Community Guru

You were scammed. Now you know that you should NOT start working without a contract. The fact that client was interviewing you does not mean you are hired. Classic scam here. Read through help articles and forum. 

By the way you are not alone who was scammed. You translated first 2 pages, other translated pages 3 and 4 etc. He probably wanted to hire 99 people or was interwiewing 50 freelancers. At least you can be proud you were the first! 🙂 Just kidding, but you really need to prepare before resuming your activities here.

Edit:

Forgot to mension ther "her" name could be Marilyn Monroe as well or "she"  could be "he".

Oh.

So, not only was she impolite but above all she's a fraud. I see.

I wouldn't have thought that, because she was so nice in the beginning. And I wouldn't have thought that a bestselling author would be so desperate for getting free translation work. **Edited for Community Guidelines**

Sure she would be nice because she needed a trust from your side. And I am repeating, your "client" is not that bestselling author you think he was.