🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Freelancer Plagarized My Profile and Stol...
Page options
jfrenchyyy
Community Member

Freelancer Plagarized My Profile and Stole Portfolio Samples

After applying to a job, I received a message from the client asking "Hey, Jessica. I'm a bit confused. I got the same sample resumés from another freelancer. Any idea what's going on?"

After asking her to send me the freelancer's profile, I discover that this guy has copied ~25% of his freelancer profile verbatim from mine, has copy and pasted a project description from my portfolio to his, and has stolen and uploaded two resume samples from my profile (I am a resume writer). After further investigation, I have the sense that this guy has plagarized his entire portfolio from other freelancers, as there is 0 consistency in his resume format or style. Additionally, all of the companies that he has listed under his employment history don't even exist.

This is very upsetting, as I have no idea how many connects I have wasted applying to a job that has been thrown out because they receive the same samples from this other guy and assume we are both frauds. I have reported this to the UpWork team but have received no response. How can I make sure this guy gets kicked off??

11 REPLIES 11
mtngigi
Community Member

I've flagged your post to get a mod's attention.

ETA: While you're waiting for a mod to assist you, you may want to do a search on the forum - there are a multitude of posts - a mod back in 2017 stated "we also expect to reduce instances of copied profiles in the near future with some initiatives we are developing", but the problem persists. I believe some of those frauds are allowed to stay after they get a "slap on the hand" ... which is just wrong.