🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Freelancer as LLC?
Page options
shuggard
Community Member

Freelancer as LLC?

Hello -

I am a new freelancer to Upwork and a new freelancer altogether. Do I need to become an LLC or can I just start this process as myself with my own SSN?  I'm not entirely sure where this will go, so I would like to start simple.  Does that make sense?

Also, if I decide to become an LLC later on, can I make that change with my same Upwork account?

Thanks for any help or suggestions!!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Do I need to become an LLC or can I just start this process as myself with my own SSN?"

You are not required to register as a LLC in order to work as a freelancer on Upwork.

Most Upwork freelancers are not registered as LLCs.

re" if I decide to become an LLC later on, can I make that change with my same Upwork account?"

You can become an LLC later on. You would not necessarily change anything in your Upwork account when you do so.

Keep in mind that Upwork requires that freelancers use their real names and personal information for their freelancer accounts. You can register as an LLC and still do that.

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Do I need to become an LLC or can I just start this process as myself with my own SSN?"

You are not required to register as a LLC in order to work as a freelancer on Upwork.

Most Upwork freelancers are not registered as LLCs.

re" if I decide to become an LLC later on, can I make that change with my same Upwork account?"

You can become an LLC later on. You would not necessarily change anything in your Upwork account when you do so.

Keep in mind that Upwork requires that freelancers use their real names and personal information for their freelancer accounts. You can register as an LLC and still do that.

Hello Team,