🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Freelancing within freelance in the USA marke...
Page options
isaac-tait
Community Member

Freelancing within freelance in the USA market

I am curious about any legal issues regarding reporting pay to the IRS if I were to take on a client job and sub-contract out pieces of the work necessary to complete the job.

For example, if I took on a web development job and the client wanted a SQL database setup but I did not have experience with that and therefore subcontracted out that portion of the job to another freelancer. After the job was completed and I received my pay through Upwork and then paid the freelancer I brought on to assist for their time. How would this affect me (if at all) at the end of the year regarding income reporting to the IRS?

My question is rooted in the assumption that Upwork reports to the IRS my total pay every year. However, as a freelancer, I am responsible to file and pay any necessary taxes at the end of the fiscal year on any money I made. Is this a correct assumption?

To make the math easy let us say I take home $50 an hour (after Upwork takes their cut) and bill 1,000 hours in 2021. My take-home would be $50,000.00. However, let us say I paid out 40% of that take home to sub-contractors. So in reality, I took home $30,000.00 which I would report to the IRS and pay taxes on. However, Upwork would have reported to the IRS that I made $50,000.00. So, the IRS would think that I was lying on my tax return and possibly audit me. I am obviously looking to avoid that but do not want to pay taxes on money I did not make.

Am I responsible to report to the IRS any wages paid to subcontractors that I hire to finish a job? Or does that fall on the subcontractor to be forthright and honest to the IRS in any pay that they received?