🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: French freelancer, tax and URSSAF
Page options
etroude
Community Member

French freelancer, tax and URSSAF

Hello! I am French, I live in France and I've been working on Upwork for 4 months, I want everything to be in order concerning taxes and URSSaf in France, is being an auto-entrepreneur/micro-entrepreneur the solution to be tax/URSSAF compliant? Thanks.

ET

6 REPLIES 6
JoanneP

Hi Emmanuelle,

Upwork charges VAT to freelancers and agencies in certain countries unless specific exemption requirements are met. Upwork is required to collect this tax and pay it to the appropriate government agency. You can read this help article for more information. If you need further assistance with filing for taxes in your location, you may want to consult with a local tax advisor. 

~ Joanne
Upwork
etroude
Community Member

Hi! Thanks for your message about taxes. I'm also worried about URSSAF (French social security agency). Maybe some experienced French Upworkers could help me with that : how can I pay my URSSAF, do I have to set up a micro-entreprise ?

b0c98bdf
Community Member

Hi Emmanuelle,

As far as I know, before you start any freelance activity, you should have previously registered your business with the authorities and have a business number (SIRET).

As I see it, there are two options:

• You make the effort to search information about your obligations by reading information published by authorities and you perform all your administrative procedures by yourself.
  • You pay professional experts to train you on that matter or to perform administrative procedures for you. You can buy excellent books or training sessions on the subject. You can even use your 'compte professionnel de formation' (CPF) to pay for training sessions.

You can check the 'Service public' web site, which is an institutional web site and a gold mine of information for any administrative procedure.