🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Freshman at Upwork
Page options
javokhir12
Community Member

Freshman at Upwork

Hey there! I'm new to Upwork and have 0 ranking level and 0 reviews from clients. I've submitted several proposals, yet noboby decides to hire me. Could anyone explain me how to get started correctly here, on Upwork, please? I'd really appeciate if you could help me.

Thank you in advance

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ian_brown
Community Member

Hi Javokhir,

Best advice I can give is keep trying. It took me ages to get started but the main aim is just to get that first job done with a good review.

Look up some of the tutorials on how to write an application letter. Take on board what they say, I know I had a lot to learn when I first started.

It was really frustrating to be turned down time and time again. 

You're caught in a trap: nobody wants to hire you because no-one has hired you before! 

Agin, keep trying and get your letters fine tuned. Don't be overly formal but be friendly but maintain a professional manner also.

Good luck,

Ian

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
ian_brown
Community Member

Hi Javokhir,

Best advice I can give is keep trying. It took me ages to get started but the main aim is just to get that first job done with a good review.

Look up some of the tutorials on how to write an application letter. Take on board what they say, I know I had a lot to learn when I first started.

It was really frustrating to be turned down time and time again. 

You're caught in a trap: nobody wants to hire you because no-one has hired you before! 

Agin, keep trying and get your letters fine tuned. Don't be overly formal but be friendly but maintain a professional manner also.

Good luck,

Ian

Hi Ian,

Thank you so much for such a useful expert advice, you reassured me. I was wondering how it’s possible to freelance here, but now you made my mind clear.

Will definitely follow your suggestion. Thanks again.

Wish you success,
Javokhir