🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » GST for Australian Freelancers
Page options
farshidux
Community Member

GST for Australian Freelancers

Hi, 

I am a Freelancer based in Australia. I have my ABN number and also have registered for the GST. 
I also have a Tax agent. 

But, no one helps me with my GST. What should I do? How can I issue GST amount in my invoices for my client? 
 Thanks 

11 REPLIES 11
NikolaS

Hi Farshid,

Thank you for reaching out to us. You can add your 11-digit ABN and confirm that you are registered for GST by going to Settings  Tax Information.

Until you enter your valid ABN and you’ve acknowledged you’re registered for GST, Upwork will charge GST. This means that a GST charge will show up on any invoices occurring before your valid ABN is successfully saved to your profile and you’ve acknowledged you’re registered for GST. We can't refund you this amount. If you have an ABN and are registered for GST, please enter your Tax Information as soon as possible to avoid being charged.

We display your GST on the invoices from Upwork to you, which can be found in your Reports › Transaction History

You can find more information in this help article

~ Nikola
Upwork

I think you got me wrong. 
I have entered my ABN and and I have acknowledged that I have been registered for the GST. It's all fine and already done! 
Upwork is not charing me the GST and that's totally fine. 
My problem is something different. In Asutralia, every quarter I have to pay my GST to the government because I am considered as a sole trader in Upwork. I am looknig for a way to get this money from my client in Upwork. How can I issue GST in my invoices for my client? 
If I can do this, then my client can pay GST, and then I will pay my GST to Australia governemt. This extra money doesn't go into my pocket. I am just looking for a way to get this money from my client and pay that to the governemt. 

How can I do that now? 

Hi Farshid,