🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Getting Paid to a Corporate Checking Account
Page options
b4581734
Community Member

Getting Paid to a Corporate Checking Account

Hello,

I have a freelancer account but have since incorporated by business. I'd need to get paid to my corporate checking account for tax purposes. Every time I select "corporate checking", it auto-changes to "personal checkings". I cannot put my corporation name as the account holder. My UpWork funds were paid out to the account information I provided, but it won't go through because UpWork auto-changed my account to "personal checking" and my personal name is not actually the account holder, I'm an officer of the company.

I've searched high and low for someone who can help me fix this issue. I've been waiting to be contacted about identifying that I'm the business owner with articles of incorporation. When I try to verify my identity again, it won't let me since I already identified my personal identity. Mostly, I want to get my earnings out of the ether and speak to a real human being to help me with this. Moving forward, I'll be creating an agency account to prevent having to spend so many non-billable hours on a situation like this.

If someone from UpWork reads this, please, please, please have a team member connect me. 

Thank you,
Amanda

13 REPLIES 13
prestonhunter
Community Member

You don't need Upwork's help to do this. Just add your legal name as a named beneficiary on the corporate account. Then change your Upwork payment withdrawal method to the corporate account.

re: "I'd need to get paid to my corporate checking account for tax purposes."

It is not necessary to withdraw funds to a separate corporate checking account in order to minimize your tax payments. Taxes are based on income and filing methods. Tax calculation is not based on what bank accounts money goes into.