🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Getting bad review removed
Page options
sourceprouk
Community Member

Getting bad review removed

Does anybody know if Upwork will remove a bad review if you prove that what the client said was not true or it was malicious? For instance, if in a dispute with the AAA, the arbitrator finds in your favour and confirms what you say? Or is it always necessary to use one of your 'lives' being top rated?

I just do not want to waste one of my scarce 'lives' on a rogue client.

18 REPLIES 18
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Federico,

Whatever side prevails in an arbitration should be allowed to ask that Upwork remove the losing side's review/rating from public use, including removing any item that effects the freelancer's JSS if the freelancer is the prevailing party. (Upwork would need to decide what "prevail" means and communicate and apply it in a consistent way.)

As a freelancer, I'd also iike to know how often a potential client has been involved in arbitration and formal disputes with previous freelancers, but that is not something Upwork wants me to know.

To clarify. Is this something that should happen or that happens?

You have to use your perk.

tlbp
Community Member

Federico D wrote:

To clarify. Is this something that should happen or that happens?

It is a "should" not a "does."

I suppose that if you were to sue the client for defamation and get a court order, then you could probably also ask for relief in the form of forcing the client to remove the defamatory review. But, the arbitration ruling would serve only as evidence in the civil defamation suit. 

Within Upwork, the only recourses I'm aware of would be to negotiate removal as part of the arbitration, use your perk, or refund the entire contract payment so that the review no longer shows on your profile. 

Perhaps a moderator will weigh in with a more concrete answer.

Federico,