🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Getting outbid by freelances practicing law w...
Page options
965f7439
Community Member

Getting outbid by freelances practicing law with no license.

Hey guys, looking for some advice. I am a registered patent agent and I am new to upwork. I have been bidding on some proposals and I have gotten a few interviews. I am offering services at a very good rate for a professional patent agent. I am constantly getting outbid by people on here offering to do legal work that do not lave a license. Several of my potential clients have told me there are people bidding against me that do not have a license to practice law and bidding ten times lower than my price! I have even seen profiles on here of people offering patent preparation and prosection with out a license to practice! I have even checked the USPTO database to see if they are registereted and they are not. This is illegal on a federal lever as it is the unauthorized practice of law (37 C.F.R. 11.505). They are practicing illegally and are making it hard to complete. Any suggestions as to what I should do? 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
a_lipsey
Community Member

Matt G wrote: