🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Ghosted by Upwork
Page options
alwilee
Community Member

Ghosted by Upwork

Over two weeks ago, I reached out to Upwork about a client not fulfilling their part of our agreement. I also shared screenshots of the few interactions between myself and the client. Upwork reached out to the client (who had been quite unresponsive throughout the assignment) who in turn, finally contacted me. I informed Upwork that I much rather resolve the dispute through them as communication with the client had been inconsistent. 

Since then, Upwork has stopped responding to my messages and the issue remains unresolved (though the request remains 'open,' it's been over two weeks since I've heard anything from them). I've been a freelancer for years and have been hesitant to join a platform like Upwork despite their promises to ensure freelancers are protected. Unfortunately, this was my first assignment on Upwork and thus far, they've failed to live up to their promise.  

Has anybody ever been ghosted by Upwork? What should be my next steps?

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

You were not ghosted by Upwork.

The word "ghosted" means that a person with whom you have a close personal relationship, particularly a boyfriend or girlfriend, suddenly stopped communicating with you via electronic tools.

This is not what happened to you.

Neither Upwork as a platform, nor any of the clients who you were communicating with, are close personal friends or paramours.

As a general principle, you should plan to never reach out to Upwork in order to enlist their help on dealing with a client relationship. It is not Upwork's intention that they do that. Instead, learn how the tool works, and use your knowledge to your advantage. Post questions in the Forum if you want advice for how to manage difficult client situations.

re: "I reached out to Upwork about a client not fulfilling their part of our agreement."