cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ghostwriting and creative projects- WHAT DO YOU CHARGE?

Kassia K Member Since: May 12, 2014
1 of 19
I am new to oDesk, and I am extremely confused. I would like to know what people charge to ghostwrite creative stories, because the offers I am getting seem incredibly low to me. I am being offered $20.00 for 4,000 words; $100.00 for 20,000 words; $350.00 for 30,000 words. I feel certain that I am being scammed. Is this absolutely ridiculous, or is this normal? These offers are for creative writing stories which I would be creating a plot line for, writing, and editing. Help!!!
Exp U Member Since: Oct 29, 2014
2 of 19
You've actually found the more lucrative ones. I've seen 50,000 words for $20 before. You've joined a good agency that is being ruined by greedy clients. Bid on small, easy projects, ignore anything creative, it simply isn't worth the effort. My approach is don't write anything at all for anyone, writing is seen as unskilled work on here and usually pays less than $1 an hour. If you like fiction, then try editing or proofreading. If you want to make money from creative writing, this really isn't the place for it.
Community Guru
Misty K Member Since: Feb 5, 2012
3 of 19
Your advice is not good. Saying that writing jobs are looked down upon here is really ludicrous. I do web content pages, and total websites, plus sales pages, landing pages, and much more. I get paid very, very well and definitely am not looked down on. I think you stating to someone they shouldn't work in an area is totally misguided. And what is it you mean by "greedy"?
4 of 19
I'm sorry, I'm trying to find some advice or suggestions in what is basically you talking about how brilliant you are.
5 of 19
P.S Anyway, she might have ethical objections to taking jobs with the words 'Adult' or 'Erotic' in them, I know I do!
Community Guru
Marcia M Member Since: Apr 3, 2013
6 of 19