🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Gmail Hangout Scam
Page options
derektsmith
Community Member

Gmail Hangout Scam

Had an interview this morning after bidding on a long term contract with good pay.

Seemed very official. Was sent a PDF with instructions to sign-up to Gmail Hangout via Upwork. Interview was conducted via instant messaging and I was a half hour in when I asked about payment. Interviewer said it would come through their company and NOT Upwork. Was offered the position via texting (another warning to me) and was asked to forward my address/phone number to gmail emails and one to companyname-company.com. The real company has a different URL.

I didnt give them my address or bank account details thankfully. Signed off with a few choice words to my supposed recruiter.

I'm new to Upwork. Not a great introduction. Do these scams happen often? Anyway to tell if it may be a scam prior to an interview?

3 REPLIES 3
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Do these scams happen often?"

Entry-level newbies, particularly Americans, are frequent targets of these scams.

Experienced freelancers are not targeted. Personally, I never encounter scams. I only read about them in the Forum.

re: "Any way to tell if it may be a scam prior to an interview?"

Often there is no way to tell.

Because scammers copy the formats and text of real job postings.

But an experienced freelancer can identify these scams in less than a second. We don't waste time on them. Even relatively new freelancers can identify them quickly, if they have encountered them before. Because the most common scam here (the one you encountered) follows a specific script and the scammers don't change the script very much. They are working from files they download or working from resources that their scam bosses provide to them. The scammers are mostly not very creative or thoughtful, sorry to say. Kind of boring, really. Not like an episode of "Leverage" or "Hustle."