cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gmail google hangout ID

Sandra T Member Since: Jun 11, 2018
1 of 15

I am new to Upwork and received my first interview request.  They sent me a message asking that I get a Gmail Google Hangout ID and enter some other information to get job briefings and an interview.  

I am not familiar with a Gmail Google Hangout ID and could not find any information on Upwork regarding this except in the community forum.  It said they thought it was a scam.  But the info about the client shows payment verification and that they have been with Upwork since 2016.   

From what I understand, this should be a good client.  Could someone please verify if I am correct?  If I am, how do I go about getting Gmail Google Hangout ID?

Thank you.

Sandy 
Community Guru
Wassim T Member Since: May 29, 2015
2 of 15

Hi Sandra, and welcome to the community.

Please note that you shared very sensitive information about your client, so you're needing to first to edit your post and remove the contact information, names and any other indications about your client since this is against the ToS of the community.

I can see you asked multiple questions here, but let me briefly explain it to you:

- Google Hangouts is a communication service provided by Google that allows people to speak or video call each other for personal and business needs. This has nothing to do with Upwork, neither do they require to explain to you how a third-party work, but you can think of it like Skype. Generally speaking, when you have a Google Account then you should have a Hangouts account. Your Hangout ID would be your Gmail email address (or Gsuite) depending on how you set up your email. You can access Hangouts in the browser by visiting this link.