🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Gripe: What's with the fees that clients ...
Page options
jeffreymorris26
Community Member

Gripe: What's with the fees that clients list on their posts?

Hi:

I've been on Upwork for a few years. I do think that it's the future for a lot of freelancers and agencies. It represents maybe 25% of my income. I am registered both as a freelancer and agency (Branding + Design) I've been a designer at a very high level, for over 25 years. 

What drives me crazy are the fees or hourly rates that are listed by potential clients when they post jobs. I realize that many are just placeholders (and they will say this sometimes) but I bleieve that the majority are not. The fees that are listed in many cases are 25% (or more) lower than the fees that I get from my non upwork clients. Who does a logo for $500? They list that they want an expert for $40.00 per hour when agencies charge $250 on up.  I realize that many clients have never dealt with professionals, or that they are bootstrapping it . I've been told by others that Upwork clients are just not qualified leads for what I do. I'm still trying to make this work, as I said, I think Upwork is the future for many. 

Does Upwork tell potential clients how each of the skillset levels translates into hourly rates? For example if you want an "expert" you can expect to pay $90-250 per hour. 

For me, I'll see a job posted that sounds like fun and that aligns with my experience. Then I will see the hourly rate or project fee that is so low that I think its a joke (its not). It takes some time to apply for a project and to go through that effort only to be told that in fact they want to pay $100 for a logo. 

All comments and suggestions welcome.

10 REPLIES 10
elisa_b
Community Member

My personal take on the matter: