🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » HELP! Email scammer? Or is this phishing?
Page options
8a7fdc41
Community Member

HELP! Email scammer? Or is this phishing?

So I'm a new freelancer. I don't have any experience on upwork and I found this job proposal, a data entry one.

They said to contact out of upwork via email. I didn't know what I was getting myself into. Then he asked if I was a translator which I found wierd because there was no requirements of knowing languages but I went with the flow and said no. He asked me for any certificates or something to prove that I have experience on data entry and I said no. I had a gut feeling that this might be fake since its unprofessional to ask a certificate via email. And then I asked for the terms and details and he sent me a US wps document, a link, that I foolishly opened. I tried downloading the document but I couldn't, so I signed up to the website of wps that they forwarded me to. I signed in with my email and my password and I went back to the agreement but I couldn't still download it.

I downloaded the wps app but still the document wouldn't open in the wps app. That was when I knew that this might be fake. 

It was a contract to sign and I dint do a thing. But now I'm worried this might be Phishing.

I read all the upwork posts, blog posts about these scam emails later on and about five hours later I decided to change my email passwords. Am I too late?

I'm panicking. I emailed him saying I can't do this project anymore and his response was 'Yeah' and then to contact someone else on telegram to take the job offer. I said I can't do this project again. He hasn't replied yet.

What do i do now? I didn't give him any credit card details and I cannot find the job offer on upwork to report. It's gone missing.

Will signing in from my email be a problem? Should I delete my Email? I need help!!!

9 REPLIES 9
pgiambalvo
Community Member