cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP! is this a scam?

almero_analiza

Hi guys!, Im new to upwork I was just alarm because I had an interview and an offer today for a data entry job post for BBI and the interviewer offered $22 per hourh..that was cool but the funny thing was he was asking for me to send him first $20 for safety on work fee. before he sends me the contract Is this legal? or is this a scam to get money for newbies like me? he mentioned that it is acountry statute  and  required  in Bosnia. I need help on this please..thanks

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
lysis10
Community Guru
22 REPLIES 22
almero_analiza

Hi guys!, Im new to upwork I was just alarm because I had an interview and an offer today for a data entry job post for BBI and the interviewer offered $22 per hour..that was cool but the funny thing was he was asking for me to send him first $20 for safety on work fee. before he sends me the contract Is this legal? or is this a scam to get money for newbies like me? he mentioned that it is acountry statute  and  required  in Bosnia. I need help on this please..thanks

This is a scam! Pure and simple.

Here's how it works. They offer you this really cool sounding gig. They seem lagit, and they sound lagit.

Here's the rub. They get you to send them $20. Hopefully by CC.  They skim your data, and suddenly you find yourself without a job, and without your credit rating.

No legit business EVER asks for an upfront fee to do anything. Businesses pay for drug test, license fees, and every other expense related to doing the job they are paying you to do.  If you are required to get something for a cost, then typically that's disclosed up front and you go direct with the business or agency that offers the pre-requisit.  Like for example, Adobe Photoshop. You wouldn't go through the job lister to buy the software, you would go to Adobe to buy it.