🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Has Upwork been approved as a qualified lawye...
Page options
ncfavreau
Community Member

Has Upwork been approved as a qualified lawyer referral service?

Greetings, 

I am an attorney licensed to practice in Connecticut. Pursuant to the CT Rule of Professional 7.2(c) "[a] lawyer shall not compensate, give or promise anything of value to a person for recommending the lawyer's services, except a lawyer may: . . . (2) pay the usual charges for a . . . qualified lawyer referral service.   The commentary to this rule provides that a qualified lawyer referral service is one that is approved by an appropriate regulatory authority as affording adequate protections for the public. See e.g., tge American Bar Association's Model Supreme Court Rules Governing Lawyer Referral Services  and Model Lawyer Referal and information Service Quality Assurance Act.   

Has Upwork been approved as a qualified lawyer referral service by any appropriate regulatory authority in any state in the U.S.A. If so, where may I find documents to establish such approval?

Thanks. 

Nathan C. Favreau, Esq.  

12 REPLIES 12
mwiggenhorn
Community Member

I''m not a lawyer but rather a long time paralegal.  You might want to check out a lawsuit in Santa Clara Superior Court (CA) LegalForce vs. Upwork et al. which makes the point that Upwork taking a fee from attorney freelancers is illegal/ unethical fee splitting.

Your question is somewhat different.  I personally haven't seen anything regarding Upwork being a qualified lawyer referral service.  You might want to check the Upwork forums, Reddit and good old Google, as well as various state regulatory authorities.  

I doubt you will get a straight answer from Upwork as their legal staff is well-hidden.  Good luck.

prestonhunter
Community Member

Nathan:
Opinions differ.

Some people say "yes."

Other people say "no."