🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Having trouble getting jobs since the Cor...
Page options
blazewriter
Community Member

Having trouble getting jobs since the Coronavirus?

I have been with Upwork for years, but in the last couple of months, my jobs have practically stopped. Does anyone else have this problem?

73 REPLIES 73
michaeljajou
Community Member

Hi Everyone,

I've been active on Upwork since June 2019, and so far I've had a tremendous year. I am graduating college this year, and things were going so well that I decided to make Upwork a full time job after college. However, with the current state of the world right now, I had some questions. This is my first post to the community, so I'm still new to this. 

With the current state of the world and COVID-19, how will freelancers on Upwork be effected by this? Will we see a tremendous decrease in possible jobs and contracts (I am a mobile app developer.) As I begin my career after college, I want to be prepared for what is ahead of me.

I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts on this based on predictions, prior experience, or just any advice in general.

Thank you! 

Hi Michael, 

I think it should be evidently clear that while freelancing is a good way to make additional money it should not be your career choice. In times like this, there is no safety net for people in the "gig" economy and no government assistance. My advice is to get in at a company on the ground floor when this is all over and use Upwork as a way to grow your income. Just my opinion but for all those out of work, the people with social assistance are in a much better position than those without. 

jongordon_ca
Community Member

Been around a while too.... currently burning through connects with 0 responses, job quality has seemed to drop (other than the usual "build me a time traveling robot" Budget:$10 type jobs)

I'm starting to wonder if something is broken?