🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Held hostage by a client
Page options
get_it_done1121
Community Member

Held hostage by a client

A client is not closing the contract which was suppose to be a one hour job. It's been two weeks and he says it will probably take much longer but is forcing me to start working on another task without a contract. I specifically asked him if the VPN was up before accepting the job, which is a requirement to complete it and he said it was up. It turns out its not up and hasn't been up till now. He knows Im a new freelancer and closing the contract on my own or a negative feedback will be really bad for me. I feel stuck, don't know what to do. I have left him numerous messages, he comes online but doesn't reply. I've asked him to end the contact amicably and have a new one as soon as the VPN is up with the same terms but he hasn't replied. They keep saying "lets do it" to the other project they want me to work on but won't create a contract for. Please help!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Shehryar K wrote:

I want the opportunity to leave a public feedback on his profile and tell everyone to avoid this client. His last client left him a 1 star feedback and warned everyone to stay away but I gave him benefit of the doubt because of his other good ratings.

The only way you can do that is to get a small payment, close the contract, and give the client an opportunity to leave feedback as well. It is a risk, but they might not bother.

Not going to make that mistake again.

A painful lesson for sure, but priceless on any freelancing platform.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
lysis10
Community Member

There is a "close contract" button in the contract UI on your end. You'll lose any money in escrow though. You can request what's in escrow but you have to wait 14 days for it to auto release.