Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Help! My Specialized Profile Ate My General Profile!

Highlighted
Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
11 of 26

I think the specialized profile feature should not be used for anything serious for at least three to six months from now. We'll see if they somehow manage to fix the bugs that are spoiling this otherwise interesting feature...

 

...without introducing new ones, a thing they love to do.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless
Highlighted
Moderator
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
12 of 26

Thanks for sharing more information about what happened, Christie.

 

To clarify, freelancers can customize overview, hourly rate, Upwork Work History and Feedback, portfolio and skills for Specialized Profiles. However, Employment History section, as well as Education and Other Experiences stay the same on the general profile and on the Specialized Profile. So removing items from those sections, will remove them from all profiles.

We do appreciate you sharing your experience and feedback and will work on making this clearer on the site.

~ Valeria
Untitled
Highlighted
Community Guru
Ela K Member Since: Feb 9, 2015
13 of 26

Valeria K wrote:

Thanks for sharing more information about what happened, Christie.

 

To clarify, freelancers can customize overview, hourly rate, Upwork Work History and Feedback, portfolio and skills for Specialized Profiles. However, Employment History section, as well as Education and Other Experiences stay the same on the general profile and on the Specialized Profile. So removing items from those sections, will remove them from all profiles.

We do appreciate you sharing your experience and feedback and will work on making this clearer on the site.


When I created my 1st specialised profile, I selected several portfolio items to feature my respective skills. After completing the SP, I decided to delete 2 of those work samples because they didn't really belong there. "Removing" them from the portfolio section of my SP permanently deleted them from my main profile. 

I can't even be bothered to try to add new jobs to my SPs for fear of what that might trigger...

Highlighted
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
14 of 26

Hi Ela, 

The Customer Support Team will reach out to you through a ticket so that our Engineers can investigate this further. 


-Avery
Untitled
Highlighted
Moderator
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
15 of 26

Hi Ela,

 

I believe this is happening because you and other freelancers click the delete button on a portfolio item instead of unassigning it. On the screenshot below the upper image shows the button that would delete the portfolio item completely while the bottom image shows the way to unassign it from a Specialized Profile. 

 

Screenshot_6.png

 

 

Screenshot_5.png

 

We understand that this current experience is confusing and our product team is already working on making it clearer to avoid situations like this.

 

*Edited to add updated information

~ Valeria
Untitled
Highlighted
Community Guru
Wendy C Member Since: Aug 24, 2015
16 of 26

Rene's right in my opinion.  Create specialized profiles but save them in draft. Do not take them live yet.  If it takes 6 months to work out the kinks - so be it.

 

I love the concept and think it will def. add positive dimensions for FLers and buyers alike. When it works.

 

Upwork, please don't use us as Beta testers ...  just sayin' ...

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Kathy M Member Since: Jun 18, 2019
17 of 26

I just tried using your second example of the + in the top R corner instead of the delete icon on the jpeg.  It took me nowhere and gave me no options that you said it would.  I need a ticket for direct support please.

Highlighted
Moderator
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
18 of 26

Thanks for pointing this out, Kathy. This process has been updated recently with introduction of Portfolio Templates and I'll update my post here to reflect it. Now, you can click the edit button Screenshot_4.png on a portfolio item in a Specialized Profile, in order to move it. The trash bin button will still remove an item from all profiles. 

~ Valeria
Untitled
Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Kathy M Member Since: Jun 18, 2019
19 of 26
Sorry but your response is not related to my specific question at all. There is no edit icon for me to click in the instance I’m dealing with. Is there no real time help on this site? You have my phone number! Use it and give me a call so I can walk you through the problem in stead of you just shooting blanks into the unknown.
Highlighted
Active Member
Richard B Member Since: May 7, 2018
20 of 26

It's almost one year later, since the original post on this topic and the error persists.

 

Just recently I created a Specialized Profile, starting with a copy of my General Profile. Then started deleting the "copies" of images that I did not want in the SP. Just like Edwina, my General Profile portfolio was now EMPTY!

 

Even worse, now I can NOT add ANY portfolio images to my General Profile, I can only add images to a Specialized Profile, which then shows up AGAIN in my General Profile.

 

So, if you add an image to your Specialized Profile, it ALSO gets added to the GP. AND if you DELETE an item from your SP or GP, it gets deleted from ALL profiles. This is insanity.

 

Right now, it looks like I will have to create a Specialized Profile with ALL the portfolio items I want in my General Profile. In other words, the so-called Specialized Profile is not really special at all.

TOP KUDOED MEMBERS