cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help With Proposal Process

shannontani
Shannon T Member Since: Apr 14, 2016
1 of 10

I submitted my first proposal today and it was rejected less than an hour after submission. I'm sure that this happens all the time, but I can't help but feel like I might have made a mistake with the proposal.

In the job description, the client mentioned a $xx-per article price that I was fine with, and the description seemed to be for ongoing work. The budget listed was $x,xxx+ for the "project". When the proposal asked for my bid, I just put in the max project amount, but included a short note that I was fine with the per-article rate they proposed in the description. 

It was rejected for being "too high". 

Should I have put the per-article rate as the bid? Since I'm new to Upwork, I am nervous about agreeing to a ridiculously low price by mistake. 

What happens after a proposal is accepted? Is it then set in stone or is there a further negotiation period?

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Shannon

colettelewis
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
2 of 10

Shannon, I don't think any freelancer on this forum has a clue what is going on at the moment. We are all at sea.  Your question has merely brought up another question.

Has Shannon's proposal been turned down by the client, or by the algorithm, who has decided that her bid may have been higher than what the algorithm has understood the client's budget to be? Is the client being allowed to make an informed decision on Shannon's proposal?

kochubei_valeria
Community Manager
Valeria K Community Manager Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
3 of 10

Hi Nichola,

Proposals never get declined automatically. For a proposal to be declined, the client has to click the decline button.

~ Valeria
Upwork
colettelewis
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
4 of 10

Thanks Valeria,

I'm sorry to be a doubting Thomas, but recent events have made me wary.

tlbp