🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Help me to get the first job on upwork
Page options
0659c9db
Community Member

Help me to get the first job on upwork

I am new at this upwork.

I really want the first job and also, 5.0 review feedback. 🙂

Is there any tip or any way to get the first job?

i am a software engineer who have 7 years experience. I have sent lots of proposals but didn't get a new job. 😞

Will I only bid a low budget job?

Let me know your opinion.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
m_terrazas
Community Member

Massimo B wrote:

I am new at this upwork.

i am a software engineer who have 7 years experience. I have sent lots of proposals but didn't get a new job. 😞

I don't know anything about your niche but:
- I would delete the first sentence. The second can be a good start. You have to take advantage of the first two sentences, it is what the client sees.
- Tell the client what you can do for them, why they should hire you. The whole thing about how you started and that you would appreciate an opportunity is not interesting, you must make it clear that you are a person with experience, the other thing makes you seem desperate, bad.
- Delete the last sentence immediately, please.

On the other hand, if you have two profiles, supposedly from two different areas, do not put the same text. Create a text for each one that explains each of them.

You have years of experience, but your profile makes you look like a hopeless newbie.
And another thing, I would change the profile photo for a more "Professional" one. I'm not talking about a suit and tie, but something that doesn't look like a selfie sent to friends.

ETA - You can check, just check not copy ANYTHING, other profiles of successful freelancers in your same field to see how they present themselves.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
m_terrazas
Community Member

Massimo B wrote:

I am new at this upwork.

I don't know anything about your niche but: