Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help please- struggling with first job decision

Highlighted
Rachael D Member Since: Sep 2, 2015
1 of 21
Hi,

I'm an experienced content writer/ English teacher/ examiner. I've joined the site as I decided to change direction from teaching and I'm currently studying a Masters- thus looking for extra income.

I've set my hourly rate lower than what I feel I'm worth and followed all of the useful advice on the forum. A company contacted me directly and asked me to apply for a job- great? It transpires however, that they need to me write all of the content for a start up website and research the actual content also, as they are in the very early stages. It's about a months work probably and they have offered the job for 10 dollars.

However... do I take this and work 'for free' to getting first job under my belt? I'm conflicted. I'd really appreciate anyone's opinion on this, as I'm also worried that it might damage my reputation. Who in their right mind would produce content for an entire website for 10 dollars? Or is this what you need to do in order to get up and running...

(I haven't actually started applying for jobs as yet, but this opportunity presented itself to me.)

Grateful for your help.
Highlighted
Patricia Elena Nin E Member Since: Sep 3, 2014
2 of 21

Simple answer: Don't do it!

Selling yourself short will be a waste of time. Especially if we're talking about the entire web copy of a start up company.

Of course, when you're just starting out, you feel inclined to do more for less, just to get things rolling. But this is too much!