🐈 Community
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Help with difficult first client - Urgent...
Page options
dawnt

Help with difficult first client - Urgent!

I just received my first job on UpWork and the client is apparently of the opinion that I should not bill for the analysis that I have done. 

"You did not state that you were billing me for your questions after I explained several times what I needed."

I am a seasoned business analyst and it never occurred to me that I should "give away" my analysis; this is work on the project!

At this point, given that this is my first job on UpWork, I'm willing to "take it in the shorts" to some degree to get a good rating from this client.  What I would appreciate are suggestions from the audience on a good approach to bring the client around.  I'm a couple of hours out from being able to deliver a product that I know will delight the client, but I need to turn around their attitude first.

Suggestions?!

19 REPLIES 19
lysis10

you mean like questions during the interview phase? Or during the job? I woulda billed him too for anything during the actualll contract, so he's being dumb if that's what you're doing.

Never underestimate the number of purposely obtuse people on here.

Questions that I had after the job started!  As we all know, sometimes the client doesn't fully understand what they're asking. I suppose the client wants me to deliver what they asked for an not necessarily what they really want!

What if you were to say something like "It's the nature of the analytical process that as you work and delve deeper, new questions arise. I think it may be difficult to see the value of that in the abstract. I'm only a couple of hours from completion, and I think when you see the finished product, you will see how that time investment added value. If you still have questions or concerns at that point, I'd be happy to discuss what you think would be a fair adjustment."