🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Here we go again!
Page options
dsmgdesign
Community Member

Here we go again!

I've been a graphic designer on Upwork for 2 years. I've heard that graphic design is an over-populated field, and I think this is mostly true. So, I focus on a small set of specialties that aren't widely practiced and also focus practicing graphic design in niche market verticals to make myself more attractive/valuable to clients in those markets.  And it works for the most part, as I'm busy throughout most of the year.

But currently it’s slow, which I mostly attribute to the pandemic. I get very few invites these days from qualified leads, which is a shame. So, I have no choice but to turn to submitting proposals.

My success rate with submitting proposals seem to run in cycles. I can send out a couple feelers after months of sending no proposals at all, and then get offers to 1 out of 2 proposals on a good week, or 1 out of 5. Then there are the cycles where I get nothing. 

Hence, the title of this post "Here we go again."  Since April 1,  I've sent 17 proposals, 6 of those jobs resulted in a hire.  I did not even a single message from any of those clients, even though these are clients in my niche market and my specialty.  I also keep my proposals short, professional and customized per client.

Could it have anything to do with how Upwork sorts proposals by “best match?” How does it sort by best match anyhow? Not by market vertical or deliverables specialization, I don’t think. Are freelancers cycled through the "best match" algorithm, like they are in the general marketplace? 

Should I not waste my time on proposals and ride it out a while? 

Could it be that nobody can be truly fully successful on Upwork every week of the year?

What else could it be?

10 REPLIES 10
versailles
Community Member

David S M wrote:

Could it be that nobody can be truly fully successful on Upwork every week of the year?

Few are. Many see ups and downs.