🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Hirring Manager without contract
Page options
osama088
Community Member

Hirring Manager without contract

One of my clients invited me to be on his team as a hirring manager, I had a contract with him but I closed it due to inactivity as we will not be doing any payments untill the whole project is complete. do I need to have an active contract with that client to work as a hirring manager on his team?
He already invited me but I can't switch to his account...
ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You could have had the client set up a contract, gotten your upfront payment, then had him fund the escrow account for the remainder. It would not have negatively impacted your JSS to have left the contract open for two months, as long as some money had been paid.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Osama,

If a potential client told me they wouldn't pay me until their project is complete I would tell them that is unacceptable.

For a fixed price project, even if they agreed to fund all of escrow upfront it is too easy for a shady client to just disappear after they get what they want from a freelancer and never release escrow.

For an hourly project, the paid-everything-at-the-end arrangement would require that you submit manual hours for payment. Within the Upwork system there is no means of enforcing payment by a client when a freelancer submits manual hours.

Upwork must always be paid by the client before Upwork passes that money (minus Upwork's fees) to you. Any payment scheme that takes Upwork out of that loop is a violation of Upwork's terms of service.

I have already charged him an amount upfront for the project, I am not concerned about the payment for now ...

I am well aware of the terms will, thanks for mentionning though ...
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "we will not be doing any payments untill the whole project is complete"

???

What on Earth are you talking about?

Whoever heard of such a thing?