🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Hourly contract but I am using printed docume...
Page options
wiredjp
Community Member

Hourly contract but I am using printed documents to reconcile some bank statements

Hi Everyone,

I work as a bookkeeper on an hourly contract. As a part of my job, I have to reconcile bank statements. So I will normally print a hard copy of the bank statement and using it to reconcile the bank account in the online accounting software. In doing so, I would show a little activity as I checking off transctions from the hard copy documents against the transactions in the accounting software. I was penalised the past by Upwork where money to a client for showing little activity (or mouse clicks) for certain periods of time. Was the best way to avoid this issue? Should I not use the time tracker and only record manual time or turn on the time tracker and then a message to the client was working the bank reconciliations during x period of time?

Thanks and kind regards.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Laurence,

Figure out a reason to have mouse or keyboard activity while you're working.

For example, do you write a message to your client explaining any discrepancies you've found, describing what you've done, etc.? Write that message with regular updates throughout the time TimeTracker is tracking your work time.

This type of work is a big blindspot for TimeTracker, but it's unlikely to be fixed any time soon.

Another big blindspot for TimeTracker is time spent with a client using Upwork's own audio/video apps. Upwork already tracks activity on these apps but the time is not automatically included in TimeTracker's payment protection system. It is indisputably time spent with a client, so there is no reason to require keyboard or mouse activity to prove work is being done for the client during such times.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ashrafkhan81
Community Member