🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Hourly contract
Page options
uhuns-vic
Community Member

Hourly contract

Hello everyone, please I need help.

I recently got my first hourly job with a client at 30/hr.

I have completed over 9 hours of work and made use of manual time once for 1 hr, but I stopped after the client asked me to use only upwork Time tracking app.

Now, I have submitted the first part of the project following all the client instructions. But the client rejected it and wants to end the project. The client also wants to pay only $100 out of the total amount.

I tried offering to redo the project and the client hasn't responded since then.

What do I do? I'm confused as I am still very new to Upwork and freelancing.

Thank you.
13 REPLIES 13
g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Vicky,

When you`re working on hourly contracts you will need to track your time with our Desktop app so that your clients are billed every Monday for the time worked in the previous week.
To learn more about how you`re protected under our hourly payment protection, check out this Help Article. I would like to clarify that manual hours are not protected under our hourly payment protection. Thank you.

~ Goran
Upwork

Hello Goran, thank you for your response.

I am already tracking time with the upwork desktop app. That is not the issue in question.

The issue is that the client wants to pay only $100 out of $295 and also wants to end the contract despite following the instructions given and despite spending over 9 hours on the job?

What do I do?

Vicky:

You made some mistakes.

That is OKAY!

It is NORMAL for a person to make mistakes when they are trying something new.

This is your first time using Upwork.

If the client wants to pay you $100, then you should thank the client and tell her you that you will accept that offer, on the condition that she help you out by providing a brief explanation about why you she is paying $100 instead of $295.