🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Hourly job
Page options
tofomiyonwon
Community Member

Hourly job

I started an hourly job. About 2 weeks ago. I submitted it last year December but I didn't log in the time I spent. All I know is that it took me 2 weeks because it was a big job. How will I get paid manually?
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I started an hourly job. About 2 weeks ago. I submitted it last year December but I didn't log in the time I spent. All I know is that it took me 2 weeks because it was a big job. How will I get paid manually?"

Toba:
Unfortunately, you made a lot of mistakes.

To be honest, getting paid for that particular job is far less important than learning how to use Upwork properly.

But we will help you try to do both.

You said you didn't log in the time.

Well, logging the time is how we get paid.

So that's a big deal.

As a freelancer, I DO NOT SUBMIT my hourly work.
I just run the desktop Upwork time-tracker.

And I get paid AUTOMATICALLY.

I don't do anything else.

The client doesn't do anything else.

I don't submit my time.

The client doesn't approve my work.

It is all automatic.

So, for future reference, what you need to do when you start working on a project is this:

- launch the Upwork desktop app

- navigate to the right contract

- click on the slider

Screen Shot 2021-01-04 at 1.56.01 PM.png

- Then do your work. The desktop app takes snapshots and keeps track of your time.

Screen Shot 2021-01-04 at 1.57.09 PM.png

- When you are done, click on the slider again to turn off time-tracking.

IF for some reason you can NOT log your time, then you should probably talk to us and get some advice. You aren't really ready for manual time yet.

But if you can't track your work using the desktop time-tracker, you will need to log your time manually. That means you won't qualify for Upwork Payment Protection. That is a whole other topic.

=====================