🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Hourly pay rate
Page options
carole-sharwarko
Community Member

Hourly pay rate

Upwork suggested that I increase my rate, and ever since I haven't received any offers. I have 100% job success with more than $10k in earnings.

I'm an expert writer with 15+ years experience and I'm now asking $75/hour. Upwork had suggested I bump to $90/hour, but I couldn't even get any messages back at that rate, so I reduced.

I guess my questions are:

Have Upwork's "suggested rate increases" worked for you?

How do I find clients who are *actually* willing to pay for expert-level work? 

Is there a point where you just "rate out" of Upwork? Maybe the site isn't right for my level?

Thanks for your feedback. I'm not trying to be too big for my britches, but I also don't want to low-ball myself.

6 REPLIES 6
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

It's important to remember that whenever Upwork makes a suggestion, it's coming from an algorithm, not a person. UW algorithms constantly alert me to jobs for which I am utterly unqualified and totally uninterested. It often "tips" me that I should bid considerably higher than I was planning to. I trust my own experience and intuition more.

Look at what others in your field with comparable experience and credentials are charging, close your eyes and do a gut check, and go with your own best judgment.

Great advice! Thank you, Phyllis!

wlyonsatl
Community Member

Upwork's various algorithms - the opaque JSS, wildly optimistic "recommended" pay rates on new job proposals, etc. - are very useful for improving what you're already doing.

The only choice a freelancer has is to run their own business here in a way that makes the most money for her (within Upwork's rules, of course). Pay rates are very important, but you will always be flying blind and should test different rates from time to time to find your sweet spot.