Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Do I validate the legitimacy of an employer

Highlighted
Juanique L Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
1 of 4

Hi All

I'm quite new to Upwork and slowly but surely getting into the swing of things.  I'm a freelance recruiter and have had a request from an employer to submit a proposal for an assignment.  After submitting my proposal I received a message on Upwork to register my details on a link which took me away from Upwork.  Being the cynic I am, I got worried that this may not be a legitimate employer and they are just phishing for my personal details.  Is their any way I can check this or verify the employers details?

Thank you

Juanique

Highlighted
Community Guru
Kamaludin M Member Since: Aug 22, 2015
2 of 4

If you want to check if the client is legitimate just go to the job posting page and check on the right-hand side if he hired freelancers before and if he has a verified payment method.

If he hired freelancers before and he has a verified payment method than he is legitimate but you should still be careful.

If he never hired anyone before and he has not a verified payment method but he signed up long time ago I would advice you to withdraw your proposal since it's probably a SCAM.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Shannon P Member Since: Jul 16, 2015
3 of 4

The easiest way is to see if they've had previous UpWork jobs and if so, what their rating is. I tend to avoid clients who have bad ratings (under 4 stars) or have given a large amount of bad feedback to freelancers they've used in the past (some clients are unfairly harsh and you don't want a ding on your account if you can avoid it).