1105hec

How Do You Get (Legit) Jobs Here??

I was on Elance for a while, and had a few decent jobs there.  Since everything was switched over to Upwork, I have yet to get hired for a decent job.  

I've sent out 50234502375982436580235409 proposals, and only landed ONE job - which hasn't even begun yet and the lady is unresponsive! 

Mostly, I find that I'm competing against people who are willing to do tremendous amounts of work for next to nothing.  So, clearly, my proposals are being declined and they're hiring people for $3.00-$4.00 an hour.

I have over 17 years' experience and typically make $25+ per hour.  How am I supposed to realistically compete with people that will do the same work for $3.00??

The quality of the job selection is very poor.  There are a LOT of scams.  Way too many.  And they're all looking for whoever will do the most work for the least amount of money.  

I'm honestly asking - how does an experienced professional actually get ahead in this Upwork market?  

7 REPLIES 7
tlsanders

You're not supposed to compete against people who charge $3-4/hour. You're supposed to recognize that there is a market for dirt-cheap work and a market for quality work, and if you can provide the latter, you are not in competition with those who provide the former. Get rid of the idea that those people are doing "the same work" at lower rates. They are not. 

Submit fewer proposals. Evaluate job prospects carefully and focus on the ones that seem to be seeking quality work and that are a good fit for your past experience in a way that sets you apart from other bidders.

I don't think it's accurate to say I am not competing against them.  Yes, I am.  They are applying to the same jobs I am applying to (jobs that match my skill set and require my level of experience).  And they are getting hired for peanuts, doing what *should* be a $20-$25 per hour job (in the real world).