🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: How Milestone Payments Work from the Clie...
Page options
farrahjordan
Community Member

How Milestone Payments Work from the Client Side

Hi Guys,

I am a freelancer, but my client is asking me how the exact mechanics of the payment process should work from her side, and I simply don't know details. Here's the situation:

-I am a photo retoucher and I get paid a flat fee per photo.
-My client and I (so far) have been setting up milestones for each batch of photos she sends me (my fee per photo x # of photos in the batch).

-BUT this is getting tiresome for my client because I do a batch of photos every day. She would like to put a lump sum in escrow and simple let me draw it down as she approves my milestones. How do I instruct her to set this up?

Thank you!

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

Have her pay you a bonus payment, from which you draw down.

petra_r
Community Member

Farrah S wrote:

-BUT this is getting tiresome for my client because I do a batch of photos every day. She would like to put a lump sum in escrow and simple let me draw it down as she approves my milestones. How do I instruct her to set this up?

Make the milestones (much) bigger. So instead of a milestone being 20 (as an example) photos which you complete every day, you can make the milestone 140 photos, so you can get paid once a week. Or set up a milestone for X number of photos (about a week's worth, or 10 days worth, or whatever works for both of you), which is released as soon as that number of photos has been done.

This means you are both protected and the client doesn't have to jump through the needless and timeconsuming hoops of creating, setting up, activating and releasing milestones every day, which is indeed a real pain.

Preston H wrote:

Have her pay you a bonus payment, from which you draw down.

That makes no sense. You are suggesting the client pay without anything having been done.