cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: How UpWork can MAKE MORE $ and keep freelancers HAPPY!

enginverse
Ace Contributor
Thomas K Member Since: Apr 18, 2016
1 of 22

I see a lot of threads on here about how freelancers get scammed by clients who do chargebacks after hourly or fix-priced work is completed (sometimes months later).

Here's a SOLUTON: As a freelancer, I'm willing to have UpWork hold my funds for say 1 month. In return, I want those funds to be protected from chargebacks regardless if the hours are manual or some other mishap occurs. UpWork can use the interest accrued during the month to build a "rainy day" fund to cover chargeback costs and pocket anything left over.

This can be an optional "upgrade" for any freelancers who want to sign on.

Who's with me?

What do you say UpWork?

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 22

Manual hours should not be protected against chargebacks. Bad contractors would just add a bunch of manual hours and scam money from Upwork using chargebacks and stolen credit card numbers.

enginverse
Ace Contributor
3 of 22

I think as long as the client does not dispute the hours (manual or not) within the week that they're allowed, then funds held for a month are protected.

jmeyn
Community Guru
Joachim M Member Since: Mar 23, 2015
4 of 22

@Thomas K wrote:

I see a lot of threads on here about how freelancers get scammed by clients who do chargebacks after hourly or fix-priced work is completed (sometimes months later).

Here's a SOLUTON: As a freelancer, I'm willing to have UpWork hold my funds for say 1 month. In return, I want those funds to be protected from chargebacks regardless if the hours are manual or some other mishap occurs. UpWork can use the interest accrued during the month to build a "rainy day" fund to cover chargeback costs and pocket anything left over.

This can be an optional "upgrade" for any freelancers who want to sign on.

Who's with me?