๐Ÿˆ Community
ยป Forums ยป Freelancers ยป How can I delete a customized profile?
Page options
2a6f40aa
Community Member

How can I delete a customized profile?

I want to delete the illustration tab from the customized profiles, but I can't. When I look at many freelancer profiles, there is only the All works tab, and I want to use only the All works tab like them.

8 REPLIES 8
martina_plaschka
Community Member


Gokmen A wrote:

I want to delete the illustration tab from the customized profiles, but I can't. When I look at many freelancer profiles, there is only the All works tab, and I want to use only the All works tab like them.


Once you have created a specialized profile, you are stuck with it. You can't delete it. The people with profiles that have only one main profile never created a second one. 

If I contact the support team, can they fulfill my deletion request?


Gokmen A wrote:
If I contact the support team, can they fulfill my deletion request?

Probably not. This is by design. Just make the best of it. 


Gokmen A wrote:
If I contact the support team, can they fulfill my deletion request?

I saw your profile. I think what you can do to use the specialized profile is change it to "Graphic Designer" to separate the illustration and color jobs from the others.
Having a specialized profile is not bad, especially if you do various types of work.

roberty1y
Community Member

What you can do is edit your profiles(s) so that they're the same. When you apply for a job, you can choose which profile the client sees (menu at top of proposal submission page). If the client sees the specialist profile, they'll only see the jobs you've done with these skills. The general profile shows all jobs you've done, which is why it's a good idea to make sure it's the one the client sees.


Robert Y wrote:

What you can do is edit your profiles(s) so that they're the same. When you apply for a job, you can choose which profile the client sees (menu at top of proposal submission page). If the client sees the specialist profile, they'll only see the jobs you've done with these skills. The general profile shows all jobs you've done, which is why it's a good idea to make sure it's the one the client sees.


In the specialized profile you can put the jobs you want. I have some jobs in all three profiles.
And, having the same text in both profiles does not seem like a good idea to me. In the face of customers it may seem lack of interest (they do not know you are doing it because you cannot delete the specialized profile)
So since you can't get rid of it, use it in the best possible way ๐Ÿ™‚


Maria T wrote:

Robert Y wrote:

What you can do is edit your profiles(s) so that they're the same. When you apply for a job, you can choose which profile the client sees (menu at top of proposal submission page). If the client sees the specialist profile, they'll only see the jobs you've done with these skills. The general profile shows all jobs you've done, which is why it's a good idea to make sure it's the one the client sees.


In the specialized profile you can put the jobs you want. I have some jobs in all three profiles.
And, having the same text in both profiles does not seem like a good idea to me. In the face of customers it may seem lack of interest (they do not know you are doing it because you cannot delete the specialized profile)
So since you can't get rid of it, use it in the best possible way ๐Ÿ™‚


You mean you can switch your job history from one profile to another? I just looked at mine, and I see there's a delete button too. Does this mean you can now delete your specialized profile if you wish? I'm afraid to hit delete in case something unpredictable happens. I know I started my specialized profile without even knowing I was doing so, and I don't want any more surprises.


Robert Y wrote:

Maria T wrote:

Robert Y wrote:

What you can do is edit your profiles(s) so that they're the same. When you apply for a job, you can choose which profile the client sees (menu at top of proposal submission page). If the client sees the specialist profile, they'll only see the jobs you've done with these skills. The general profile shows all jobs you've done, which is why it's a good idea to make sure it's the one the client sees.


In the specialized profile you can put the jobs you want. I have some jobs in all three profiles.
And, having the same text in both profiles does not seem like a good idea to me. In the face of customers it may seem lack of interest (they do not know you are doing it because you cannot delete the specialized profile)
So since you can't get rid of it, use it in the best possible way ๐Ÿ™‚


You mean you can switch your job history from one profile to another? I just looked at mine, and I see there's a delete button too. Does this mean you can now delete your specialized profile if you wish? I'm afraid to hit delete in case something unpredictable happens. I know I started my specialized profile without even knowing I was doing so, and I don't want any more surprises.


You can delete a specialized profile if you have two. If you only have one, you won't be able to do it.
And what I mean is that you can add any image you want to your specialized profile.
Now I don't know exactly how it works because I created them a long time ago.

Latest Articles
Upcoming Events
Apr 27
Upwork Virtual Community Hour
Community Hour English
Featured Topics
Learning Paths