🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » How can I prove that I can proofread well?
Page options
hopefultoad
Community Member

How can I prove that I can proofread well?

I'm new to Upwork and to freelancing as a proofreader. I think I have what it takes to be a competent proofreader, but I don't know how to show that to clients. I've taken all the relevant Upwork skills tests and got good results on most of them, though my score for the spelling test was only "Above Average", despite not differing much, numerically, from the other tests (I guess proper spelling is a more common ability than the others). But I don't know how much stock clients put in those tests. Some might even suppose I had cheated on them or something.

Is there a good way for me to prove my ability to proofread? Would taking an existing piece of writing that I have permission to use, proofreading and editing it, and then posting the resulting edit on my portfolio increase my chances of being hired? Or is there simply no way I'll be hired without some prior experience to display?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mystudiomke
Community Member

You kind of answer your own question. That's exactly what you should do. Take a writing piece (or make your own), proofread it as you would for a client, and post it as a portfolio piece (before and after). You should do various of these to show the quality of work.

Lila

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
mystudiomke
Community Member

You kind of answer your own question. That's exactly what you should do. Take a writing piece (or make your own), proofread it as you would for a client, and post it as a portfolio piece (before and after). You should do various of these to show the quality of work.

Lila
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

Andrew P wrote: