cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I spot a fake client?

Manish C Member Since: Sep 9, 2015
1 of 9

I am fairly new to Upwork. I've had some luck and a few clients, but I am still quite new, so forgive me if my questions sounds dumb.

I went through the forums and saw a few posts where people were talking about fake clients. One even mentioned that a freelancers account was suspended becuase he worked for a Fake client.

What is a Fake client? How can we, as freelancers. spot a fake client? If I unknowingly work for a fake client - will I get suspended? 

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
Community Leader
HB B Member Since: Aug 9, 2015
3 of 9

Thanks for posting that link, Petra. A lot of good information.

I've noticed the following a few times for translation jobs, where the client asks me to complete a multi-page translation as a "sample" to prove my skills!

Too many people being interviewed This can be a sign that the buyer is dividing the job up and giving the various parts as a 'test' to applicants...with the intention of getting the job for free. 

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
4 of 9

@HB B wrote:

Thanks for posting that link, Petra. A lot of good information.

I've noticed the following a few times for translation jobs, where the client asks me to complete a multi-page translation as a "sample" to prove my skills!

YES! I don't do test translations, unless I am paid for them, in which case I cheerfully do.

Ivo V Member Since: Jul 28, 2015
5 of 9

If someone offers you "test job" than just simply tell him : "Okay, I will do test job, please change the weekly limit to 5 hours. So if you like my work then increase the limit to full time or whatever." I think that in this situation you will avoid unnessesary situation and you will see if the client is serious or not. If he disagree it is not worth trying to work for him.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
BEST ANSWER