🐈 Community
deka87

How come my rating got lowered due to a client inactivity?

Hi! I am a top rated freelancer and enjoy working here.

I had a client who sent me an offer and funded the first milestone. I sent him the first results within several days. He replied that he didn't have time to check it now and was going to get back to me next month. Then he simply disappeared and stoped responding to my messages. 

I didn't want to issue a dispute because I have already worked with this client before and really enjoyed it. After some time Upwork ended the contract due to its inactivity and lowered MY rating for some reason, though I did my part of the job. 

How come my rating has to suffer due to clients availability?

10 REPLIES 10
c997f982

Have you taken a new job since this clients job offer? That might be the reason, your average goes down if you accept a new job as the client has given you a rating. It could also be that because this client didn't give you a rating you got 0 stars from him and then your justified in being annoyed. 

Sure thing he didn't leave me any rating because he just disappeared and the contract was closed by the system. The thing I don't understand is why should this affect my rating at all? It's the client that got idle, not me.

Yegveny, you got 4.6 feedback on one job (4 for quality & skills), that's probably why your JSS is 97% now. Although you didn't say so, I'm guessing your JSS used to be 100%. So now you know that you need a little luck to be 100% JSS, and if 100% JSS is that important to you, you can use top rated feedback removal perk to remove the 4.6 feedback.

It would seem more likely that the less than 5-star review job is responsible for the lowered JSS. There don't appear to be any jobs without reviews on your profile. 

As to the question of why a non-review contract might pull down your JSS, the answer is because that is the way the owners of the platform chose to perform the calculation.