cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I report a case of mobbing?

Erika B Member Since: Oct 13, 2015
1 of 9

Dear all,

sorry in advance for the long explanation, but I really need someone's help here. 

I have been translating for this employer for about 6 months now and I almost never contacted them because there were no issues: last month, though, I didn't receive payments on the usual dates, so I sent some messages to my contact person. After a few days, since I received no reply, I turned to the person who hired me and we had a conversation on Skype: she said she would send an e-mail to my contact person to push her to reply. I thanked her and added "Sorry for bothering you, I know this is not your competence but I had no other contacts: I will write to the right people in the future". I guess she can't read English very well, because she became angry and started saying that I was stressing her and that she "warned me" that if I wrote another word she would block me. I replied that I was just thanking her, but she blocked me on Skype. After one hour I received an Upwork notification: my manual time had been revoked. Today I received another notification: my working hours limit has been reduced from 40 hours to 15, without prior notice and without any explanation. Needless to say that both operations have been carried out by the same person I had talked to on Skype.

How do I defend myself from such an unprofessional and criminal behaviour?

Thanks to you all in advance for your support!

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 9