🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » How do I send invoice to the company I worked...
Page options
bluewater0
Community Member

How do I send invoice to the company I worked as a freelance?

Hi,

I have a question of how a company pay for a freelance works in their office, on hour rate? This is in UK.

I am first time temporarily freelancer, have no idea how to deal with invoice and tax matter.
I was offered to do a freelance job for a company which was working on site in their office, hour rate £20.
I have worked 3 days, everyday I arrive 9.30 finish 5.30, I filled time sheet for each job and 30 minutes lunch time, there are time gap between jobs, for example I have done 2 jobs one day, spent 3 hours on each job, but there is 1 hour standby time between 2 jobs, I was in the office 8 hours, had lunch 30 minutes, so at the end of the day on the time sheet I have worked on 2 jobs 6 hours.
How do I invoice the company, to invoice the company by the time I was there (8 hours) per day or only get paid for the actual time spent on the jobs which is 6 hours.
Could anyone UK freelance help me withe an answer please.
Many thanks,

Zhuoling

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Zhuoling W wrote:

Hi,

I have a question of how a company pay for a freelance works in their office, on hour rate?

It has nothing to do with being in the UK. Did the client hire you on Upwork? Then, as Preston said, you track or log the hours in your work diary, the client gets invoiced automatically on Monday.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
prestonhunter
Community Member

Feeelancers do not "send invoices."

Freelancers log time and are paid automatically.

Log time using the Upwork desktop time-tracker application. Or log time manually. That is all.

Hi Preston, 

Thank you for your reply.