Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you deal with bad weeks ?

bosesumon
Ace Contributor

Hello ! Everyone,

I am a Graphic Designer and Ilustrator,

I have been freelancing on upwork for couple of months now. I quite liked it but how do you deal with weeks when all your proposals get rejected (no matter how good they are ) and on top of that I took 2 weeks vacation and came back to find out that my Job sucess rate has come down from 100 to 91. I am scared it will go below 90 and I wont get any project. How do you deal with it? I am still holding tight but I wanted to know if all Freelancers have gone through rough patches and is there a light in the end ?

Thank you as always,

Sumon Bose

16 REPLIES 16
lysis10
Community Guru

I work on other things that make me money or have potential to make me money. 

Hello! jennifer good to hear from you again. I am working on other things too ( I have a few long term / monthly contracts with clioents outside upwork) but its still at the back of your head and bothers you.

I think I just being over sensitive (like always) but Its just me.

It bothers me for maybe a day or two but I get over it. I'm too confident for some schmuck on the internet to get me down for long. I like money, so I just go make money somewhere else or even just play video games with my friends or something.

I go workout too sometimes. Sun, workouts, etc lift your mood.

My JSS fluctuates between 92-95. Highest it's ever been was 96. I too want to stay above the 90 mark, but I've already told myself that poop happens and I'm not going to beat myself up too much if i drop below 90. I care more about the money than the JSS. If I'm at 80 but making IRL gold, who cares? 

Jennifer,

You outlook as always is the best. I feel quite good actually. You think I shouldnt worry about the 91 percent JSS much ?

@Sumon B wrote:

Jennifer,