🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: How important is savings to a freelancer?
Page options
florydev
Community Member

How important is savings to a freelancer?

I want to hear other's opinions so I will let the subject stand for itself.

18 REPLIES 18
petra_r
Community Member

Mark F wrote:

How important is savings to a freelancer?

very.

Do I have any? I try to have enough set aside to get by for a couple of months if absolutely need be. But I dip into that frequently and occasionaly deplete it.

I am not good at saving though, too many bright shiny things I like 😄

IMO savings is extremely important to freelancers as well as nonfreelancers. "Rainy days" most definitely do happen; sometimes more frequently than others.

Very important for me. 

I have had otherwise reliable clients disappear on me out of the blue in the past, leaving me with a void to fill in my income. There's also no telling how long it will take for me to fill such voids. I might find myself in trouble if I didn't have something to help pull me through. 

I try to have a couple of months' worth of income set aside at all times, but how much savings you should have will obviously depend on individual circumstances. Somebody who lives in the U.S. with no access to free healthcare, and/or has dependants, and/or has mortgage/loan repayments to make, would need a much bigger cushion than someone who's footloose and fancy-free like I am. 🙂

tlsanders
Community Member

I have mixed feelings about this. The obvious answer is "critical," and I do agree with that. Even the most successful freelancer will hit dry patches, or times when he/she is unable to work for some reason. But, there are many different issues in play.

First, I do think it's critical to have what I think of as a buffer...operating reserves (including funds to pay myself) if there's a gap in revenues.

But, the issue is larger than that, because there are a lot of risks for a freelancer that don't apply to traditional workers.