cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: How is the layout of what the employers see?

Highlighted
Alda C Member Since: May 23, 2015
1 of 6

I am really new to Upwork. I have applied to 7 seven jobs so far, and I have 3 active candidacies. Only 1 out of 3 that actually seems real. The other 2 asked me to email them (and I did), and after that 1 of them somehow changed the job entirely, so I stopped talking to him.

The other one, who is a new member to Upwork, sent me a message, saying that I am hired without actually hiring me on Upwork. He asked me to reply to his email along with my preferred payment method. He also wants me to visit a website that will monitor my working hour, instead of using Upwork Team. Now I am wondering, what does the employer see on my profile? Can't he see my payment method? Also, aren't these employers given basic guidance by Upwork (like making use of Upwork Team)? Do they have a button to click which will turn my candidacy status to "hired"?

If anyone can help, I will really appreciate it Smiley Happy

Highlighted
Marvin E Member Since: Mar 30, 2015
2 of 6

If a client offers to transact payment outside of upwork, the possibility of it being a scam is fairly high. If it is somehow a legit client (who actually pays) but offers a different monitoring and payment method outside of upwork then you and client are violating upwork guidelines.

Highlighted
Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
3 of 6

Hi Alda,