cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many freelancers are experiencing a decline in contracts after Upwork's unconscionable 20%

louiseupwork
Louise M Member Since: Jul 21, 2015
1 of 20

How many of us are experiencing a serious decline in contracts since the **Edited for Community Guidelines** fee increase Upwork gave itself w/o having added ANY value to the site?

More importantly, what is the value of 20% of nothing if we are not earning b/c Upwork's greed requires us to charge more than the traffic will bear? 

How long before Upwork's epic fail - excessive skimming, deeply **Edited for Community Guidelines** search tools, willful blindness to the dangers of forcing users to share personal information and confer the kind of access a huge corporate client wouldn't expect without a $50K retainer agmt - prompts some real competition a la Elance, the best site for legal work? 

If I was a coder, I would be moving heaven and earth to create a facsmile of Elance, which was ultimately much safer and much more effective for all concerned.

Hurry up, coders! 

lysis10
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 20

I actually made 5 figures in May (was surprised about that) but made significantly less in June. This month is back to killing it. My bestest favoritest client is back this month, and these months I am so happy cuz the work is a good 2-3 weeks long so I can relax.

August is usually one of my best months, so I'm looking forward to another good month.

btw, if you were a coder you would realize that making a competitor site would take several months and millions in startup costs and marketing.

mwiggenhorn
Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
3 of 20

I have no problems with the new few structure.  I did have someone off the platform offer me work.  They take 40%.  I said no thank you.

outsourceupwork
Community Leader
Anil K Member Since: Dec 16, 2015
4 of 20