🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » How many proposals til your first job?
Page options
e3d4ca8c
Community Member

How many proposals til your first job?

Hi! Im new to Upwork and have sumbitted 8 proposals. I took time making sure my cover letter was the best it could be, but I still have yet to get hired. I have enough credits to do one last proposal before I will need to buy more. 

For experienced people here, how many proposals did you sumbit before you got your first job? And on average how many proposals do you sumbit to get one job?

Just wondering since I'm not sure if I want to invest in this if its hard to get jobs. I already get freelancing jobs outside of Upwork.

17 REPLIES 17
engrzunuran
Community Member

I still remeber that I had my last 2 connects available to bid and I got my 1st job from those last connects. And rest is a memorable and amazing journey of mine at upwork. So dont loose hope. Try to write every proposal according the job you are applying for. Copy paste proposals are not worth here. You can also add your past work in job posts in form of files. That can also help in some cases. Good luck

Thank you! I just sumbitted my last proposal and I'm hoping for the best

jeremiah-brown
Community Member

If you're having doubts about spending connects right now, you probably won't like this site going forward, especially as a new freelancer.  This isn't an absolute, though.  Your profile and your proposals could be spectacular and draw instant client interest, no two experiences are the same.

I would, however, point out that since you're new and just starting out, you can expect to spend more connects than someone with a longer freelance history filled with reviews, portfolio items, and account longevity.  

Thanks! I knew it would take a lot since I'm starting out, and I just felt a little discouraged today especially with the bidding system. I am considering buying some more connects now, but I'll see what happens.