🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: How much should I charge for the design o...
Page options
nanakastudio
Community Member

How much should I charge for the design of a cookbook? I'm new to Upwork

5 REPLIES 5
versailles
Community Member

You should ask a designer.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless

Rene K wrote:

You should ask a designer.

And  the designer will tell you that it depends on the number of pages 😉

mtngigi
Community Member

Veronica,

No one here can tell you what to charge. Presumably you've had to give real-world clients estimates? How did you do that?

There are lots of variables with books - page count, photos that need work, maybe illustrations, the cover art. Do you have to do an index? A 50-page cookbook will not take as long as a 200-page cookbook. All these things and more need to be factored into a bid.

The best thing to do is get complete clarity and expectations on what the client hopes for as an end result, and work back from there. Make room in your bid for the number of revisions you'll agree to do, find out how the things you need to get started will be handed off to you. Copy (should be well-proofed), images (will they need Photoshop work), etc.

prestonhunter
Community Member

Veronica: Being really honest with you: Figuring out how much to charge for some is an advanced technique. It requires wisdom and experience.

If you are new to freelancing, you should start won't hourly jobs only.

If you work for an hour, you get paid for an hour. Very simple.

Once you start accepting fixed-price contracts... expect to make mistakes.

feed_my_eyes
Community Member