cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: How to Spot Clients who will Insist on Directing the Project but Don't Know What They're Doing?

maryrossi
Ace Contributor
Mary-Helen R Member Since: Oct 9, 2018
1 of 8

I am so relieved to be able to ask for advice this forum as I have now had TWO difficult clients in a row, both of whom shared one significant trait: they were sure they knew at least as much as I did about the job they hired me to do.

I should start by saying I've clocked 60 hours for a client who paid me well and wrote me one of the best reviews I could have imagined. I really do try hard and do good work.

The first difficult client was the best example. A very successful business woman hired me to research and write grant proposals to fund a project. My job was to rewrite a proposal that sounded more like a marketing piece and find/send it to nonprofit foundations.

I have 30 years' experience in the nonprofit field, from all angles of it, with 20 in grant writing. I spent a fair amount of time on the job to infuse it with a lot of (possibly) subtle nuances that said to nonprofit funders that we knew what we were doing and we were going to do a very good job with their money. I speak their language, right?

She didn't think so. She couldn't imagine how I had spent so much time on it and was disappointed it wasn't more "compelling" and wanted to end our relationship. Since she had previously shown such resistance to any direction I had offered I just bowed out of the job telling her that if she didn't see the difference then we should indeed end it. She did pay me, without complaint.