🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » How to curate offers so that the price range ...
Page options
alves_luis
Community Member

How to curate offers so that the price range is fair globally?

In less than 1 month, I have burned out over 120 connects. I have submitted proposals mid price range. How many freelance jobs I got? ZERO! I have over 20 years experience on UI and UX Design. Now, what's the problem?

Job offers like - Complete website desktop and mobile version
Offers range from 3000 to 100!
How can western countries freelancers compete with this? 100 to work a complete month on a project? This won't even pay my electricity bill in the country where I live!

Complete branding??? Sure - 30 Bucks the lowest bid!
How can I compete with this?

Who is curating these prices? Who's maintaining a fair trade here?
A lot of projects get closed and I see no hires, fake offers? I'm not getting back my connects when this happens.

How about making this fair and if I'm not selected for the job, at least get half my connects back?

Feeling frustrated here.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Luis,

Competition among freelancers on Upwork is fierce, maybe even especially so in your area of expertise.

As a new freelancer, I suggest you focus on establishing yourself as a reliable and efficient freelancer, which can only be done by actually working on projects and getting feedback from clients.

Youre extensive experience in the real world is a big advantage for you - your profile can highlight what you have provided to previous clients over the years (which potential Upwork clients cannot verify) and you know what real world clients are willing to pay, so your expectations in that regard are based in reality.