bethrosselle

How to get more work (I know, so original) ;)

Hi there,

I'm still relatively new to Upwork. I signed up a while ago, but October I believe was my first active month. In other words, it's the first time I started submitting proposals -- I think I submitted a couple. Then last month (November), I started to submit a lot more and landed two jobs pretty quickly (both with 5 star ratings from clients and complimentary written feedback). Currently, however, I have 25 active proposals sitting unanswered which feels like A LOT. And, of course, I'm a bit frustrated. Was it simply coincidence that I picked up those two jobs at once?  I was kind of hoping / assuming the work would start flowing once I secured a couple of jobs and got some good reviews. I know that no one here is a client mind reader, but I do have a couple of questions:

1. Does Upwork add any filters to submissions based on whether or not we have a paid membership?

2. are clients able to see how many unanswered proposals I have open? Should I be withdrawing them as I go, so I don't appear as someone who's submitting a ton and not getting work?

And, of course, any other tips are welcomed. 

Many thanks!

Elizabeth

4 REPLIES 4
tlsanders

That's not unusual at all. In fact, a lot of people report in the forums that 50% or more of the jobs they bid on expire without anyone being hired. it does get easier to find work when you have some ratings, but even long-term Upworkers have rushes and dry spells.